The Cast

All of these chemists have received the American Chemical Society’s Award in Organometallic Chemistry. From left to right, we see:

Robert Grubbs, Caltech – ACS Award 1988, Nobel 2005, developer of Grubbs alkene metathesis catalyst

Ei-ichi Negishi, Purdue – ACS Award 1998, Nobel 2010, developer of Negishi coupling reaction

Odile Eisenstein, Institut Charles Gerhardt – ACS Award 2009, computational organometallic chemistry

Charles Casey, U. Wisconsin – ACS Award 1991, ACS President 2004, organometallic reaction mechanisms, and my PhD adviser (1976-81)

Stephen Buchwald, MIT – ACS Award 2000, development of new organometallic catalysts